Call Us Today

5 Major Employment Laws

5 Major Employment Laws

Whether you are looking your first job or have a well-established career path, you should know these five major employment laws. By knowing them, you can protect yourself from possible discrimination, poor working conditions, and much more.

1. National Labor Relations Act (NLRA)

This law protects employees’ rights to talk about their working conditions to others. For example, it is not illegal to talk about salaries or to complain about work hours to another individual.

2. Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA)

Businesses with fifty employees or more must offer leave to employees who are seriously ill or have a family member who is seriously ill. If an employee requests time off due to a severe illness, the best course of action is for the employee to contact the HR department.

3. Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA)

Businesses with 15 employees or more must follow this law. It protects people with disabilities from unfair discrimination. If an employer interviews someone with a disability, they are legally not allowed to discriminate against them based on the disability.

4. Title VII

This law prohibits discrimination based on race, color, religion, sex, or national origin. Therefore, managers must be sure that they do not discriminate based upon any of the listed categories or consequences will follow.

5. Age Discrimination in Employment Act (ADEA)

This act protects workers who are over the age of forty from discrimination. Employers are not allowed to base a hiring decision upon an employee’s age. Likewise, managers cannot say things such as, “we are looking for a young and modern crowd for our new hires,” which would be considered discrimination.

Recent Post