Knowing Michigan’s wage and hour laws

| Feb 10, 2020 | Firm News |

Michigan state law guarantees employees certain protections. These protections keep employers from taking advantage of their workers. They ensure that workers have access to fair compensation. Today we will take a look at some aspects of your job that wage and hour laws may impact. 

First, wage and hour laws determine when your employer will pay you and the method of payment they use. While an employer is able to pick from a selection of options, these options are pre-determined by law. They include paying employees once a month, twice a month, once every two weeks or every week. In some cases, an employer may have even more frequent paydays. The important thing is that they set regular paydays. An employer cannot refuse to keep to a payment schedule. It harms employees who depend on a regular paycheck. They must also pay all wages in cash or by check. In some cases, employers can pay via direct deposit. They must have explicit permission from employees to do this, though. 

Wage and hour laws also determine minimum wage payments and overtime pay. Right now, minimum wage for anyone over 18 is $9.25 an hour. For anyone under 18, it is $7.86 an hour. For tipped employees, it is $3.52 an hour if they are earning tips at the time. 

Do you want to continue reading about wage and hour laws in the state? If so, you can follow the link here. It will take you to our web page on wage and hour laws. You can read about how these laws affect employers and employees. You can learn more about the protections that state laws offer you. It can also help you determine if employers are putting you in an unfair position.