Residents in Michigan may need to take time away from their jobs to attend to their own health needs or the health needs of a family member. Under the provisions of the federal government’s Family and Medical Leave Act, employees may qualify for leave without pay.
In addition to the FMLA, the state of Michigan offers employees a program via which they may take leave from a job while still getting paid.
Michigan’s Paid Medical Leave Act
As explained by the Michigan Department of Labor and Economic Opportunity, the state’s Paid Medical Leave act went into effect in the spring of 2019, making it still a relatively new program. The program covers private employers with more than 49 employees working in either part-time or full-time capacities. The amount of time for which a person may be paid during a leave period depends on how much paid time off they have accrued.
Leave accrual and qualifying events
Paid Medical Leave time accrues in a manner similar to how paid time off or vacation time may accrue. For every 35 hours an employee works, they accrue one hour of PML time, although an employer may limit the weekly PLM accrual to one hour even if the employee works more than 35 hours.
An employee may qualify for PML to take care of their own health issues or those related to a spouse, child or parent.
This information is not intended to provide legal advice but is instead meant to give employees in Michigan an overview of the state’s program by which they may qualify for and receive paid leave from their jobs due to certain life situations.